Intro to SCMD3000, (almost 2 years later)

tumblr_nbr37cvohz1sin489o1_500

Coming on as a B.Sc undergrad to enter medicine in 3rd year through the ever growing popular Graduate Entry Medical Program, commonly know as GEMP. I had no reference point as to what medical school was actually going to be like, especially since I hadn’t really known anyone who had gone or who was going through it. My ignorance had me thinking it would be something out of a Grey’s Anatomy episode. Boy, was I wrong!

One word, PCMS, the block that has haunted every graduate from Wits since its introduction. 8am to 5pm, 4:30pm if you’re lucky, Monday to Friday. Pathology, microbiology, pharmacology, immunology, biostatistics and bioethics presented in the form of back to back lectures and theme sessions (a fancy name for labs). Information overload at its best, between trying to remember how different tissue dies (I still get this wrong), the life cycle of Strongyloides stercoralis (still don’t know it today) and drugs named by a person who probably hated people (if it ends with a ‘LOL’ then it’s beta blocker, right?) It wasn’t hell but it was definitely the closest I’ve ever been to it. They didn’t bother organizing the lectures according to subjects and their excuse was that “it’s all integrated” (No, actually stop lying). By the end of my first week (keep in mind, I had enrolled two weeks late) I had more notes than I could fit in my bag and by this point all I was thinking was maybe I should just move into the library for a few weeks or find the nearest pub and kill my liver, both seem to be equally rational and good ideas, so torn! so I decided I shall do neither (Thinking back, I should have done both).
It’s an introductory block that only makes sense after you’ve fully covered the next 11 blocks, even then its still a bit sketchy. The one good thing to come out of PCMS was The King (I’ll make a post about him later, maybe).

I swear they were trying to make a doctor out of you in the space of a month. Sleep was a myth and confusion was your best mate throughout the duration of the block.

WELCOME TO SCMD3000

3 thoughts on “Intro to SCMD3000, (almost 2 years later)

  1. Everything is always “integrated”, it’s all very tactful really.

    Lol, it’s good to know my study partner & I aren’t the only ones who have our brains washed the second we leave an examination room, as far as life cycles are concerned.
    You just hope the day you are called to be the difference between life & death for a patient, knowledge of the life cycle of some ambiguously named bacteria isn’t mandatory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

