Why medicine?

Why medicine? It’s the ultimate question and the simple and rather expected answer is that “I want to help people.” It can’t be the money, I mean we really don’t make that much for the work we do; but then again I don’t understand why there would be a simple or expected answer to such a question.

I was a sickly child, so I spent a lot of time in hospital surrounded by sick people, many of were often alone and scared. I remember going from bed to bed chatting to people and telling them that they’d get better and that everything would be okay. I kept getting in trouble with my grandmother because she kept telling me to stay in bed but I couldn’t help myself. From that grew an overwhelming passion to want to help people, even it meant that I got yelled at for it. As a child I remember being asked what it is I wanted to do when I grew up. My answer each time was that I wanted to make the world a better place, helping one sick person at a time. If people felt better than the world would be better too.

I was cute and innocent, but that sentiment remains true till today. Truth is that medicine is the perfect combination of all my passions. It’s where science meets art, facts meets faith. it highlights the imperfections of humans and yet promotes and teaches to never give up on them, it is the best representation of humanity. It’s a practice that encompasses my passion for people, my love for God, my understanding of nature and it excites my being. Let’s face it, medicine is awesome. I remember the first time I stood in the dissection hall, that first incision, that paralyzing moment, how could one feel so alive in the presence of death. How could one be so much, so complex and yet so simple. The human anatomy, I don’t understand how you could not fall more in love with what it is to be a human being. I remember my first interaction with a patient, I didn’t know enough to diagnose, let alone help her, but just talking to her and making her smile. I’ve never felt more in the right place. How could I ever do anything else. I want to be use as a tool by God to aid others heal, to bring life into the world, to guard and to serve that very life. I’d practice medicine even if I wasn’t getting paid for it.

So when you ask why medicine? It’s really simple but it’s not; I am medicine, Medicine is me. It is an extension of me, in as much as I am an extension of it. We’re in a love hate marriage, a complicated relationship but we’re definitely soulmates. We fused when we met and became one being; it’s my thoughts, my heart, my passion, my dream and my calling. So that’s why medicine.

FIN

2 thoughts on “Why medicine?

Leave a Reply

