Medicine (An abusive love story)

I must have been 6 years old when we first met. In a blink of an eye we became inseparable. You were that friend that always kept me out of trouble so I knew my mom loved you. I stuck around you because you understood me and never once judged me. Young, but I cherished the values you preached and represented. Even though our bond and friendship grew, life started to happen so we’d sometimes go months without talking but you were always there when I needed you. You were there for me through the awkward puberty phase and the overwhelming sex drive that came with it. I started to notice the curves off your body, the scent you gave off and just how beautiful you were growing up to be. As you grew so did your complexity, you started to learn foreign languages, you read a different book everyday, spent a lot of time in the library and carried yourself with such esteem. However, the older we grew the bossier you became too; you took advantage of my kindness, told me what to do, how to dress and even which subjects to choose at school, forced me to be good at maths, physics and to abandon the arts. I was young and naive so I complied to your every demand with the hope that one day you’d be mine. Completely mesmerized by the being you were becoming. You hated how much time I spent playing basketball and hanging out with friends, hated how close I had gotten to other girls. You felt unappreciated and so you punished me by playing hard to get, claimed that I wasn’t ready, I lacked drive, spirit and wasn’t mature enough. I wasn’t ready to have you, I wouldn’t know what to do with you. Broken hearted I had to survive through the confusion and hurt in the hope that one day it will all make sense.

Time lapsed and I met another, she had features that reminded me of you, and I hated that about her. I grew up, moved on and reinvented myself. Never really keeping tracks on who you had become but hearing stories through the great vine of some of your accomplishments from the friends we shared in common, physiology has always had a big mouth. 4 years since I had last saw and really thought of you, you creeped up on me without a warning. I couldn’t ignore the chemistry or the beauty in our interaction. The endless conversations and laughs as we caught up on life. I had grown crazier and you had become even more beautiful. I asked you out and you said no then said yes a few days later.

It started out with us spending everyday together and staying up till the early hours of the morning talking on the phone. I could never forget the electricity in our first kiss. The sex was heaven, the journey was poetic and we seemed something rather magical. In love, yes I was. This was new to me and quite indescribable. The more time lapsed, the more of you started to become revealed and the more of me fell for you. Life happened we got busy but still managed to talk though. Sometimes you were clingy, moody or seemed emotionless, I equated that to the possibility of PMS. We fought more and laughed less, you hated how much I’d spend on my phone and claimed that I didn’t give you enough attention. I did not take you seriously enough and my efforts were limited. You needed more romance, more time, more sacrifice. You started driving me up a wall and frustrating me as I was already giving you all I had. How dare you say I don’t give you enough time, I couldn’t recall the last time I saw my friends and family, the same way I couldn’t equally recall the last time I wasn’t with you. You’re my life and I’ve admitted that, you own my heart, thoughts and body but still have the audacity to say it’s not enough. I’ve given up my friends, my job and even my family for you. Must I die for you before it’s enough. You control my life in a way that is frightening to me. I want to chill and watch a movie, but you want me to study – so we study. I want to see my family over the weekend but you want to me revise – so we revise. I want to sleep in and recover from last night’s study marathon but you want me to attend lectures and PBLs – so we attend. This is so toxic and yet I can’t walk away, the sex is too good, the love is too deep, we’re too intertwined. I couldn’t escape you if I wanted to then again I don’t really want to. What have you done to me? Why do I hold on so damn hard to you. You’ve become a part of me.

I love how you say my name and talk of a future with me. It’s quite clear that I love you more than you love me. Another fight you’re too jealous and controlling, I can’t take it, I’m out, I’m done with this. Frustrated and angry I refuse to think of you, it’s been two days now, I miss you but a man’s ego is a lot. You call me crying, you want to make up, I’ll come see you, I really hope your neighbors aren’t home, they’re really starting to hate us. It’s loud, it’s passionate, it’s messy. We get high, we eat and repeat. I stay longer than intended. Cuddles and booty rubs, love bites and endless talks. I wonder how long this peace will last.

This is abusive, you’re terrible, an horrible lover, but I’ve never loved anything the way I love you and so I’ll stay. It’s simple, it’s complicated, it’s messy. I hate you but I also love you, you’re my soulmate so we might as well get married.

5 thoughts on “Medicine (An abusive love story)

  1. Hi Yannick,

    Thanks for this well-written piece. I am myself am just getting into this relationship now. Are there any women in your class over 27? Any men ? Is it ever too late to study medicine?

    Like

    • Hi Mrs

      Despite how toxic it can get, it’s a beautiful journey. I wish you all the best and I hope you truly do enjoy yourself on your journey to become a doctor. Yes there’s a few people in their 30’s and the oldest is about 45 years old.

      Like

  2. You’re a very great writer and your blog is very encouraging. I’m planning on quitting my job too and going this route as I’ve always wanted to do medicine. I will be in my thirties when I start ( if all goes well) but I just can’t imagine myself doing something I don’t love for the next 30 years of my life. All the best and I really enjoy your posts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

