A letter to 2017


It’s that time of the year again; resolutions, reflections, new journeys etc. A new year is on the horizon and once again we’ve been given an opportunity to try, to do better and achieve more. It means so many different things to me.

Emotionally – it doesn’t erase whatever hurt, worry or other negative feelings I may be experiencing at the moment but it definitely redirects my attention towards hope, peace, happiness and optimism. There’s also a sense of accomplishment in having survived a year many people deemed to be worse in a long while. I’m ready for what’s coming ahead.

Physically – I’m all for a year of gym, healthy living and and fitness. Definitely going back to basketball, I’ve even gotten myself a new ball. I’m also really looking forward to having to smarten out my everyday look. Smart shirts, ties, chinos and smart shoes. It’s time to be a grown up.

Mentally and spiritually – it understanding how difficult this new year is going to be. It’s really going to challenge many of my core values, my priorities and my ability to cope with it all. I know school will be a thousand times harder. My sense of responsibility as a man is also developing quite drastically so that’s pretty exciting.

Academically – it’s goodbye blocks and hello rotations, hospital time, finally. To be honest I don’t know how to feel about fifth year yet. It’s nerve racking, but it’s also exciting. It’s a chance to finally see what being a doctor is all about. I think the thing I’m looking forward to the most is cancelling out on plans because I’m on ‘call’, it just sounds so Grey’s Anatomy. I love it.

2017 will be a great year, I’ll make sure of it.

Wishing Everyone a Happy New Year.

7 thoughts on “A letter to 2017

    • Thank you very much for the wishes and motivation. A happy new year to you too.

      I’m in my first year of clinical medicine. So in the traditional 6 year medical program I’m in my fifth year and in the American 4 year medical program I’m in my third year. If all goes well I should be graduating at the end of next year as a medical doctor.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh yea, that’s cool. How far along in your studies are you? I haven’t quite made up my mind yet but surgery is definitely at the top of my list, I just can’t seem to be able to narrow it down further. You?

        Liked by 1 person

      • I’m in my 4th year and here it is 5 years long. I am not sure yet. I know what I don’t like but problem is I like most of the specialitis which makes it much harder to decide. But I think medicine would definitely be my choice.
        I just started my blog. I was thinking of forming a group of medical students on WP (don’t know if it exists already) where we can share our content. It’s much easier to relate with people of your kind you know

        Liked by 1 person

      • I have a similar problem, I find too many things interesting. I’m thinking about doing a 4 week elective at the end of the year in medicine. I really feel as though it’s where you become an amazing doctor.

        You’re almost done though. Where are you studying? I think that’s such a great idea creating a network on WP. I’d definitely love to be part of that. Please do sign me up

        Like

Leave a Reply

