Starting to resemble medicine, maybe a little bit. (Pt 2)


For most people, including myself, today is the first official day of fifth year. We’ve all been separated into clinical groups of either 14-16 students (mine is called 4A) and scattered all over different hospitals and rotations. My life has also officially been broken down into periods of either two or six weeks; the duration of a rotation and the amount of time between exams.

See one, do one, teach one, get comfortable, get inspired, write series of exams, move on to a new rotations and repeat. We should no longer refer to ourselves as medical students, but rather young doctors in training; It’s time to be on your feet the whole day, clerk patients, be on call, all the while trying to study, eat, sleep, stay healthy and maintaining a normal life too, basically doing all that Grey’s anatomy growing up stuff.

I had a hard time falling as sleep last night, I felt quite anxious and overwhelmed. I don’t like not knowing what’s happening and right now I’m as clueless as could be. The expectations and pressure is sky high and sometimes I forget that I don’t need to know it all, I’m here to learn and that’s kind of the all point. Change is uncomfortable, especially when it’s needed so I’m consciously having to remind myself to not be so hard on myself.

All I know is that today I start with Family Medicine, it’s a two weeks long rotation which probably means that my first exam and/or assessment is in two weeks. The overall break down is that the first two days comprise of a pre-test (based on contents I should have learned but probably didn’t in third and fourth year) and lectures with the HOD. You then get assigned to a general practitioner near you that you have shadow. You’re expected to go on a home visit, do a presentation, an observed consultation and as well as clerk as many patients as possible. I’m as excited as I am nervous.

Wish me good luck

One thought on “Starting to resemble medicine, maybe a little bit. (Pt 2)

Leave a Reply

